benefitexpress October 18, 2019 2 min read

Understanding the 4 Types of HRAs

Types of HRAs

Providing competitive benefits options is crucial in today's workforce—especially when it comes to retaining and recruiting quality employees.

Whether you're a small business or large organization, navigating the benefits world and its continuous evolution can be a challenge. That includes group health insurance alternatives such as HRAs.  

Previously, there were two types—the Health Reimbursement Account (HRA) and Qualified Small Employer HRA (QSEHRA). Following an executive order reflecting a new view on the Affordable Care Act, two new HRAs were issued—the Individual Coverage HRA and the Excepted Benefit HRA. 

Got all that? Let's break it down

Click the image below to access a high-level overview and comparison of the basic requirements and related compliance issues applicable to:
  • HRA - Health Reimbursement Accounts
  • QSEHRA - Qualified Small Employer HRA 
  • ICHRA - Individual Coverage HRA 
  • EBHRA - Excepted Benefit HRA


Or, click here to download.

Ready for a deeper look into the newest HRAs (ICHRA and EBHRA)? Watch our on-demand webinar that details the new HRAs for 2020 and what employers and HR administrators should expect.